When upgrading, the wizard does not shut down MIMIX for you. The wizard verifies whether MIMIX is shut down on each system and, depending on whether you are using the standard or custom upgrade option, will either issue an error or prompt you to shut down MIMIX. Both scenarios provide access to instructions for shutting down.
When installing MIMIX or the Assure MIMIX portal application, if Assure UI server is active, you will be prompted to shut down the Assure UI portal. This affects access to all instances, including those for other products. If you choose not to shut down the Assure UI portal, it will not be updated; you will not be able to access the new capabilities in the Assure UI portal or the portal application after the install process completes.