Executing and loading a data view - Data360_DQ+ - Latest

Data360 DQ+ Help

Product type
Software
Portfolio
Verify
Product family
Data360
Product
Data360 DQ+
Version
Latest
Language
English
Product name
Data360 DQ+
Title
Data360 DQ+ Help
Copyright
2024
First publish date
2016
ft:lastEdition
2024-07-09
ft:lastPublication
2024-07-09T15:09:58.774265

When a data view is executed, it pulls the most recent data available from the data stores it has been pointed to. Once a data view has been built and loaded, it can then be used to explore data in a dashboard or visualization.

When exploring data it is always important to consider when that data is from. If you aren't sure, you can always run the data view to populate it with the most recent data available or contact your Administrator for more information.

Running a Data View

First run

Running a Data View for the very first time will load its fields with the most recent data available from all of its data stores.A Data View must be run at least once before it can be used to Explore Data.

Re-run

Running a data view after it has been run before will update the view's fields with the most recent data from all of its data stores.

You can use a Data View to explore data during a re-run, but visualizations will not display updated data until the re-run is complete.

Setting parameters

When you run or rebuild a data view, the Execution Parameters dialog displays, together with any available parameters for the data load range of all data stores that are included in the data view. The Name and Data Type of these parameters cannot be changed, and you cannot delete them.

You can, however, add or delete other parameters as required, using the buttons provided.

The Data Type of these parameters is always String, but you can edit the Name and Value as required.

Rebuilding a Data View

Rebuilding a data view will do the same thing as running a data view, however it will also incorporate any changes that have been made to the Data View since the last time it Ran.. Data Views should be Rebuilt after they are modified. More specifically, "modification" may mean:

  • The Data Stores the Data View pulls from have changed.
  • Data View fields have been added, removed, renamed, or reconfigured.
  • Load Filters, Query Filters, or Other Data View Settings have changed.

You cannot use a Data View to explore data while it is being Rebuilt.

When you rebuild a data view, the Execution Parameters dialog displays. See Setting parameters for more details.

Scheduling Data View executions

Users with Administer permissions to a data view can schedule its executions. If you are familiar with the frequency at which your incoming data will be updating, you can request these permissions from your Data360 DQ+ Administrator.

Viewing Data View contents

To view Data View Contents, use the View Stage option available from your Pipeline. Alternatively, you can click the View button present in the toolbar when editing the Data View.

Viewing a Data View allows you to take a look at the amount of records it has loaded during its executions, or its "Contents." When viewing contents, you can reach each load event's execution history directly, by selecting the Work ID you are interested in and then using the View Execution button available in the toolbar.

Note that when viewing Data View contents, there will be no files available to download. For this type of content, look to the Data Stores the Data View queries.

Permissions

Permission needed to View: Read

Permission needed to view Executions: Execute

Deleting all data from a Data View

When editing a Data View, Users with permission to do so can Delete All Data. This functionality should be used when working with a Data View that has previously Run and contains data you are no longer interested in visualizing.

The need to Delete All Data in a Data View may arise when:

  • A Data View needs to be Rebuilt.
  • A Data View needs to be Re-Run because Data Load settings have changed.

Affect on Dashboards

Before deleting all data from a Data View, you should know that doing so will effectively empty out any Dashboards or Visualizations that use that Data View. This means that such Dashboards will be temporarily unavailable and display ‘No Data' until the Data View is rerun or rebuilt.

To determine if this will be an issue, simply use the Find Usages feature on the Data View while viewing it in a Pipeline.