Managing user accounts - Data360_DQ+ - Latest

Data360 DQ+ Help

Product type
Software
Portfolio
Verify
Product family
Data360
Product
Data360 DQ+
Version
Latest
Language
English
Product name
Data360 DQ+
Title
Data360 DQ+ Help
Copyright
2024
First publish date
2016
ft:lastEdition
2024-07-09
ft:lastPublication
2024-07-09T15:09:58.774265

Creating a user account

  1. From the menu at the top of the screen, select Admin > Users.
  2. Click NewUser in the toolbar at the top of the Users page. The Add User dialog is displayed.
  3. Complete the Email, First Name and Last Name fields.
  4. Optionally, add any additional Profile Fields. For more information, see Adding profile fields.
  5. Click Save.
Tip: When an administrator creates a user account, it is claimed by default, and the user can use their account. When a user creates an account it must be manually claimed by an administrator. For more information, see Claiming user accounts.

After a user account has been created and verified, it can then be added to groups and environment groups, to access specific Data360 DQ+ environments and data stages. For more information, see User groups and Managing environment groups.

Adding profile fields

A profile field is an additional piece of information that you can associate with a user to delegate access rights in a more granular fashion.

For example, data views have a query filter feature, which you can use to create an expression that will filter how certain environment groups of users can access data. User profile fields extend this function by allowing you to filter by individual user as well.

To do so, you would create a query filter and apply it to a specific environment group of users. Within the query filter, you would also need a filter expression that used the PROFILE_FIELD function to look for specific profile field values.

Profile fields: Name:Value pairs

When creating profile fields, you may create one-to-one or one-to-many pairings. One-to-many pairings can be created through comma delimitation. For example:

Name

Value

profileFieldA

one

profileFieldB

two,three

Setting a user profile field to <ALL>

To allow a user to see all possible field values for a profile field, set the profile field's value to: <ALL>

Editing a user account

To edit an existing user account:

  1. From the menu at the top of the screen, select Admin > Users.
  2. Select the user from the table, and click Edit. The Edit User dialog is displayed.
  3. Edit the fields, and click Save.

Activating a user account

If a user cannot activate their account by using the activation link, you can manually activate their account.

  1. From the menu at the top of the screen, select Admin > Users.
  2. Select the user in the Users table.
  3. Click Activate.

Other account actions

The following additional actions are available from the toolbar in the Users page.

  • Enable - Enables the selected user account if it is disabled.
  • Disable - Disables the selected user account.
  • Claim - Claims the selected user account.
  • Unclaim - Unclaims the selected user account.
  • Make Admin - Gives the selected user administrator privileges.
  • Remove Admin - Removes administrator privileges from the selected user.
  • Reset Password - See Resetting passwords for more details..
  • Refresh - Reloads the Users table.
  • Export to PDF - Exports a PDF file containing a list of users accounts.
  • Activate - Activates a user account.
  • Settings - Opens the Users Settings dialog, which you can use to configure SSO settings, and automatically assign users to groups.

Automatically assigning users to groups

You can use the Users Settings to automatically assign a user to groups when the account is claimed.

  1. From the menu at the top of the screen, select Admin > Users.
  2. Click Settings in the toolbar.
  3. In the Users Settings dialog, scroll down to the Initial Group Assignment panel.
  4. To automatically assign users to a group, select the group in the Available Groups section, and click the right arrow to add the group to the Selected Groups section. You can remove a group by selecting it in the Selected Groups section and clicking the left arrow.

Account passwords

Changing a password

On systems that are not using automated login via Enterprise SSO, users are required to change their passwords every 90 days. This is enforced at login time, if 90 days have passed since the last time a password was changed.

Note: When changing a password, it cannot be the same as any of the four previously used passwords.

Account locking

After 5 consecutive failed log in attempts, an account is locked. To unlock the account, click the Forgot your password? link and follow the series of prompts that follow.

Resetting passwords

Normally, an email would be sent to the appropriate user, with instructions for resetting the password. However, this is not always possible because, for example, the person concerned used a fake or pseudo email address when the account was originally set up.

To reset a password, do the following:

  1. In the header bar, click Admin, followed by Users.

  2. Select the appropriate user, then in the Users page toolbar, click Reset Password.

    The Rest Password dialog displays.

  3. Select:
    1. Send Reset Email to User.

      An email is sent to the user, with instructions for resetting the password.

      or:

    1. Change User Password.

      Two fields display for completion :

      Enter New Password:

      Confirm New Password:

  4. Once you have chosen the appropriate option, and completed the fields, if required, click Reset Password.

    Either an email is sent, or the password is reset and the dialog closes.