Organizing documents - Data360_Analyze - 3 - 3.12

Data360 Analyze Server Help

Product type
Software
Portfolio
Verify
Product family
Data360
Product
Data360 Analyze
Version
3.12
Language
English
Product name
Data360 Analyze
Title
Data360 Analyze Server Help
Copyright
2023
First publish date
2016

You can use folders to organize your documents.

Common ways to organize documents include:

  • by project, product or organizational unit
  • by document type (data flows, library nodes, schedules and files)
  • by project life cycle (development, production, retired)

You can use nested folder structures to organize by combinations of these facets, for example by project, lifecycle and then by document type.

By default, two top-level folders, My Documents and Public Documents are provided.

My Documents is your private top-level folder, which is only available to you. You can build out a folder structure here to help organize your work.

Public Documents will contain folders and documents which are available to all of your Data360 Analyze users, permissions allowing. Building out the folder structure in Public Documents may be something your system administrator does, or may be a collective responsibility of the system users.

Creating folders

You can create a new folder in the Directory, as follows:

  1. From the folders panel on the left of the screen, select the containing folder inside which you want to create your new folder.
  2. Click the menu button to the right of the containing folder and select New Folder:
  3. You will be prompted to enter a name for the folder. This name must be unique within the containing folder. Type a name and click Create.

The new folder will be shown in the folders panel on the left, and also in the list of the current folder contents in the middle panel of the Directory.

Tip: To create a new folder, you must have the required level of permissions on the parent folder, see Managing permissions.

Renaming folders

Do the following:

  1. From the folders panel on the left of the Directory screen, select the folder that you want to rename.
  2. Click the menu button to the right of the selected folder and select Rename.
  3. You will be prompted to enter a new name for the folder. This name must be unique within the containing folder. Type a new name for the folder and click Rename.

Alternatively, you can select the folder that you want to rename from the document list in the middle of the screen, then choose Rename from the context menu in the top-right of the Details panel on the right.

Note: The top-level folders My Documents and Public Documents cannot be renamed.
Tip: To rename a folder, you must have the required level of permissions, see Managing permissions.

Deleting folders

You can delete an entire folder, or you can select specific items within a folder to delete.

To delete a folder:

  1. From the folders panel on the left of the Directory screen, select the folder that you want to delete.
  2. Click the menu button to the right of the selected folder and select Delete.
  3. This operation cannot be undone. When the Delete Folder dialog opens, click Delete to confirm that you want to delete the selected folder, or click Cancel to return to the Directory.
    Note: When selecting a folder to delete, note that all subfolders and files within this folder will also be deleted.

To delete items from a folder:

  1. From the document list in the center of the Directory screen, select the items that you want to delete.
    Tip: You can select multiple items in the directory by holding down the Ctrl key, or you can select a range of items by holding down the Shift key.
  2. Click the menu button in the Details panel on the right of the screen and select Delete. Or, if you have selected multiple items, the Delete button will be available for you to click from the top of the Details panel.
  3. This operation cannot be undone. When the Delete Items dialog opens, click Delete to confirm that you want to delete the selected items, or click Cancel to return to the Directory.
    Note: When selecting a folder to delete, note that all subfolders and files within this folder will also be deleted.
Note: My Documents and Public Documents cannot be deleted.
Tip: To delete a folder or document, you must have the required level of permissions, see Managing permissions.

Moving a folder

You can choose to move an entire folder, or you can select specific documents within one folder and move them to another folder.

  1. From the folders panel on the left of the Directory screen, select the folder that you want to move.
  2. Click the menu button to the right of the selected folder and select Move.
  3. Select the new location for the folder and click Move.

Moving documents between folders

  1. From the document list in the center of the Directory screen, select the items that you want to move.
    Tip: You can select multiple items in the directory by holding down the Ctrl key, or you can select a range of items by holding down the Shift key.
  2. Click the menu button in the Details panel on the right of the screen and select Move. Or, if you have selected multiple items, the Move button will be available for you to click from the top of the Details panel.
  3. Select a new location for the selected items and click Move.
CAUTION:
If you move a library node to a different folder, ensure that any data flows that use the node have a library path that points to that folder (see Library paths).
Note: My Documents and Public Documents cannot be moved.

If the items are moved successfully, you will be returned to the Directory.

Move conflicts

A move conflict will occur if you attempt to move a document into a folder that already contains an item with either the same name, or the same ID.

All documents in Data360 Analyze have names for easy reference, however behind-the-scenes, all items are defined by a unique ID. This means that even if you have renamed a data flow in Data360 Analyze, if you attempt to move the data flow into a folder that contains a data flow with the same ID, the matching IDs will cause a conflict.

If a conflict occurs when you attempt to move documents, you will see the Move Conflicts dialog.

Choose from:

  • Replace Existing - Overwrite the existing document with the item that is being moved. You also have the option to type a new name in the Name column if needed. Replace Existing is the default action for same-IDconflicts.
    CAUTION:
    Replace Existing will change the ID of the item being moved to that of the item that is being replaced. If you are moving a library node, note that this could break dependencies, as any items that reference the library node will no longer be able to locate it.
  • Do Not Move - Cancel the move action.
  • For same-name conflicts - Rename - Change the name of the item that is being moved to avoid a name clash in the target folder. Rename is the default action for same-name conflicts. Edit the name as required in the Name column.
  • For same-ID conflicts - Change ID- Move the item to the target folder and assign a new ID. You also have the option to type a new name in the Name column if needed.

If you have multiple conflicts, you can set an action to be applied to all conflicts of the same type by selecting the option from the same-name or same-ID action header:

If you do not specify a value in the Name column, the default values are as follows:

Item names Action Default name
Same Replace Existing Existing name
Same Rename Existing name (2)
Same or different Do Not Move N/A
Different Replace Existing / Change ID Existing name
CAUTION:
If you move a data flow that another user has open, they will not be able to save their changes.

Document and folder permissions

To move an item, you must have the following permissions:

  • You must have Write permission on the item that is being moved.
  • You must have Write Contents permission on any parent folders and on the target folder.
Tip: If you select multiple items to be deleted or moved, you will only be able to complete the action if all selected items have the required level of permissions.
CAUTION:
When you move a document to a different folder, the default permissions of the target folder are applied to the document. Any permissions previously set at the document level are not maintained.