Saving runs - Data360_Analyze - 3 - 3.12

Data360 Analyze Server Help

Product type
Software
Portfolio
Verify
Product family
Data360
Product
Data360 Analyze
Version
3.12
Language
English
Product name
Data360 Analyze
Title
Data360 Analyze Server Help
Copyright
2023
First publish date
2016

There are different types of runs you can produce in the system, namely:

  1. Ad-hoc runs are those when you open a Data Flow and manually run the nodes.
  2. Scheduled runs are produced by scheduled Data Flows.
  3. Runs produced by the Execute Data Flow node.

You will be able to save ad-hoc executions of Data Flows into the directory, to have multiple ad-hoc runs of a single Data Flow within the system. Saving the runs will allow you to share the results of a run with your colleague, helps you to have multiple runs of the same Data Flow for comparison reasons and also have multiple runs of the same Data Flow using different sets of run properties or different runs for different data.

Viewing run states

  • Saved run states can be opened directly from the Directory pages, where they are opened as read only. Alternatively run states can be accessed from within an opened Data Flow, where the list of run states is a list of what you have access to based on the folder picker option.
  • The tabular column describes Run State, Run Date & Status.
    • Run State - It lists Default run states and saved run states. Default run state is listed on top, it is unique and available for each user for each data flow. Saved run states are the states that you have saved. You can switch between these states, if needed.
    • Run Date - It is the start date/ time of the most recent manually run of a node or set of nodes.
    • Status - The status of the run state changes when you run the states. There are four different states listed, namely:
      • Spinner - indicates the run state is actively running.
      • Green tick - indicates a successful run
      • Red cross - indicates an error with the run.
      • Circle - indicates the run state is not yet run.
  • Context Menu - The run states has the following options,
    • View in new tab - The Run States are opened (in read-only mode) in a new browser tab, allowing them to be compared.
    • Show Details - Provides you the information on Run details and its properties.

Saving run states

Against every run state, there is the option to "Create", this allows the you to create a new run state using the same run property values as the current run state, saving it with a new name and in a location of your choice. Follow the below steps to create a new Run state.

  1. Navigate to the Run panel in the Data Flow Designer.
  2. Click Context Menu option against the run state you want to create.
  3. Click Create, the Create Run State dialog appears. A default name (data flow name & time stamp) and location (folder with data flow name inside my documents) will be offered for the state to be saved. The default name can be modified.
  4. Click Create, once the changes are done.
  5. The Run States section shows the saved run state folder and the list of all created run states for the data flow, in addition to the Default State.

Against Default run state, you can, Copy and Clear which allows you to save the default run state permanently in a chosen location. The ‘Default State’ then gets re-created as a new clean run state. And this option is available only for Default State.

Additional run state operations

  • Rename - You will be prompted to enter a new name for the folder. This name must be unique within the containing folder. Type a new name for the folder and click Rename.
  • Delete - Allows you to delete the selected run state.
  • Delete run data - The Delete Run Data function clears all visible run data from the selected data flows, including node statuses and output pin data, and also removes any temporary files associated with the run.
  • Edit Permissions - An administrator can control the permission level of folders and documents in the Directory, granting access to specific users, groups of users or users who are assigned to a specific user role, while restricting access to others. For more information see, Managing permissions.